Migrant Awards

NOTE:  Migrant Awards will not be presented at the 2017 Conference.

The Migrant Awards have been given since 1998. The 19 migrant regions in Oregon can nominate one person from their region for the following four awards:

Migrant Advocate Award: For a person who doesn’t work for the migrant program, however, advocates for migrant students.

Migrant Parent Award: For a migrant parent who works to advocate for their Parent Advisory Committee or State Parent Advisory Committee.

Migrant Student Award: For an outstanding migrant student in the program. This award was created in 2011.

Migrant Employee Award: For a migrant employee who serves in Oregon and has done an outstanding service to migrant students and families.

A committee evaluates the nominations sent in and individually assesses their top three candidates. The committee then gets together and, in most cases, has chosen the top candidate who will receive the award. If there isn’t agreement, the committee advocates for their candidates until a consensus is reached.

The Larry Tucker Migrant Award is chosen by the State Director to acknowledge an individual who has dedicated their life to the migrant program.

Migrant Advocate Award Recipients

Jorge Gutierrez, NWRESD (2016-2017)

Paulina Romo Villaseñor, Lane ESD (2015-2016)

Jonathan Fost (2014-2015)

Migrant Parent Award Recipients

Victor Vasquez, Ontario (2016-2017)

Irma Alonso, Hillsboro (2015-2016)

Rafael Flores, Woodburn (2014-2015)

Migrant Student Award Recipients

Leslie Serrano-Niebla, Ontario (2016-2017)

Havelin Vera Morales, Clackamas ESD (2015-2016)

Gema Garcia, Astoria NWRESD (2014-2015)

Migrant Employee Award Recipients

Evelia Juarez, Clackamas (2016-2017)

Amelia Lopez, Forest Grove (2015-2016)

Anita Galian, Newberg (2014-2015)

Migrant Larry Tucker Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Charlie Bauer (2016-2017)

Brad Doyle, Clackamas (23015-2016)

Anita Hasart, High Desert ESD, Retired (2014-2015)